I Blame CoCo For The Music

5 Jun

Originally published in Music-News

Words by Rahsian Parris

I Blame CoCo

It’s April, it’s Glasgow, it’s the O2 Academy and it’s La Roux and there are at least 200 hundred teenagers and a fist full of adults lined up outside the venue, anxious to see Britain’s favourite red headed rebel.

With catchy, 80s synth lead, pop rock tunes, it’s not just La Roux’s bustling beats that have this crowd of youths won over, or even her distinctive fashion sense (the crowd is a mass of shoulder padded blazers and skinny jeans), but her distinguished style has clearly transcended to barbers also, as boys and girls alike unashamedly sport the quirky, but undeniably cool ‘La Quiff’ (the La Roux Quiff). As the line slowly makes its way towards the doors (and I mean slowly), suddenly the middle-aged gentleman beside me starts up a conversation. “I like La Roux, but I’m here to see I Blame CoCo, she’s fantastic” he says. I look at him questionably thinking ‘thanks for sharing that tid-bit of information, but anywho’ “She’s sting’s daughter, did you know that? Ya know, sting from the Police?” he continues. I confirm that, contrary to what he might have thought, I had heard of this person by the name of Sting.

He goes on to reel off names of songs that failed to stick in my mind and why they were so, (again) ‘fantastic’. Thankfully, not a moment too soon, we arrive at the doors and end up parting ways. I find a comfy seat on the balcony and have been warned that people (that’s me) in the first three rows are not allowed to stand during the performances, ‘not a problem’ I think to myself. That, of course, was before the first support act came on. A mixture of ambient solar sounds, mediocre pop vocals and echoic guitars, Jamie Woon was nice in theory, not in practice. Not only did I want to stand; I wanted to leave. You have to feel some sort of compassion for the poor guy though, being stuck between about three laptops, some dull looking tech-head and some decks on what could arguably be considered the most cluttered stage I have ever seen, did not bode for an enchanting stage presence, despite the fairy music. After exclaiming that his Grandmother, no less, was in the audience (asleep probably) he finished up with a couple of slightly more upbeat tracks (still fairy-like) and the Daft Punk tunes belting out of the speakers during the changeover was the best thing I had heard all night. That was until someone shouted out “get on with it, we want CoCo!” I suspect it was Mr ‘fantastic’.

CoCo comes on to stage to a relative amount of roaring from the crowd that sounds like a herd of elephants in Ikea compared to the murmurs Jamie Woon received, are they pleased to see CoCo or pleased Woon has gone? Blasting out her first reggae/dance/rock number, CoCo makes me sit up in my seat. Why was I expecting the Ting Tings? Maybe it was her raspy, brit/pop vocal, that minus being reminiscent of Ellie Goulding on 40 a day, is riddled with electric charm, or maybe it was the inescapable echo of her father that lines her ‘epic lyrics’ (if we could hear them properly over the dodgy sound system) and earthy undertones, but by her second track, debut single Cesar that features Swedish pop royalty Robyn, CoCo had my attention.

Unfortunately, it did not last the whole set. This is one occasion that proved that good sounds and catchy riffs are not enough to keep a crowd enthused through out a show. We need entertaining. There is something about the way CoCo presented herself (was it the way she stood almost hidden behind her band mates?) that screamed ‘awkward child plus glaring eyes’. Her performance was a tad uncomfortable, like the couple of seconds you spend gleefully watching someone singing in their bedroom mirror and the couple of seconds after they realise you are watching them. Maybe what she lacked was experience, because attitude was in full throttle. However, I am sure the insatiable, pre-teen audience did not help; later in the night even La Roux had to beg for some sort of response “I know it’s Sunday but can you guys PLEASE dance a bit more than you are”. CoCo has not yet reached the point of being a ‘performer’, but from a musician’s point of view, she is a darn good singer/songwriter. Perhaps with a smaller audience and a more intimate venue she would have had the crowd more beguiled and I would have been better entertained.

However, lets not knock this young talent before she has fully bloomed. CoCo’s songs are instantly magnetic and sit on the brain like a feasting musical haemorrhage waiting to happen. There is a chance that her grit-appeal could waver into something slightly more pretentious if her songs continue to follow her bloodline, but then again, there has never been anything wrong with going with what you know. For now, if nothing else, she has nursed my ears back to health after being abused by Jamie Woon and if La Roux hates me for Google-ing the lyrics to Ceasar during her performance, I blame CoCo.

One Response to “I Blame CoCo For The Music”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention I Blame CoCo For The Music « Octave -- Topsy.com - June 5, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Rahsian Parris, Rahsian Parris. Rahsian Parris said: I Blame CoCo For The Music: http://wp.me/pDZ8z-3q […]

Leave a Reply

